Dakota County Domestic Violence Attorney
Protecting the Rights of Clients in Hastings and the Surrounding Areas
Minnesota law requires police to make an arrest when they are called to any domestic disturbance. Fighting these charges also involves fighting an automatic negative bias against you, and it is vital to retain a skilled, experienced and diligent criminal defense attorney to defend you.
At Sullivan Law Office, our lawyer has experience handling domestic violence and domestic abuse cases, which has equipped us with the skills to provide the reliable legal representation you need. From start to finish, we examine the circumstances of your arrest, talk to witnesses and build an effective defense that may help you secure the optimal result possible against your domestic violence charge.
Let's get started by scheduling your consultation. Call our Dakota County domestic violence lawyer at (651) 998-7589 today.
What Actions Are Considered Domestic Violence?
In Minnesota, domestic violence is defined as any act or threatened act of violence upon someone with whom the accused has had an intimate relationship. This means individuals do not have to be married in order to be charged with domestic violence – parents, step-parents, roommates, partners or anyone residing in the same household can be accused of domestic violence crimes.
The following acts are considered domestic violence in Minnesota:
- Actual or threatened physical harm
- Sexual assault
- Sexual battery
- Statutory rape
- Criminal harassment, such as threatening letters or phone calls
- Pushing, hitting, slapping, choking, kicking, or biting
Penalties for Domestic Violence
While each domestic violence case is as unique as the parties involved, a person can be punished with up to 90 days in jail and a fine not exceeding $1,000. There are many factors that can either reduce or increase a sentence.
For example, a person with previous domestic violence convictions could face:
- Up to 1 year in jail and a fine not exceeding $3,000 (if the defendant has 1 prior conviction)
- Up to 5 years in prison and a fine not exceeding $10,00 (if the defendant has 2 or more prior convictions)
- A prohibition to use firearms (if the violent action included use of a deadly weapon). Violations of this ban could result in an additional year in jail and a fine not exceeding $3,000
- If the convicted violated a protective order within 10 years of a previous conviction, they could face between 1 and 5 years in prison and a fine between $3,000 and $10,000.
Don’t Delay, Contact Our Dakota County Domestic Violence Lawyer Today
When you are facing a domestic violence in Dakota County, choose a criminal defense attorney with the experience and dedication to make a difference. Call (651) 998-7589 or contact us online to schedule a confidential case evaluation. With offices conveniently located in Hastings, Sullivan Law Office stands ready to represent you in your domestic violence case.
“She's easy to communicate with and gets information back to you in a timely manner.”- Former Client
“We have always appreciated your assistance.”- Former Client
“Martha Sullivan was recommended to me by another lawyer here in Minnesota in 2013. We had an emergency, my children's father refused to return them. It is a great relief to have her here to help us, as she knows what she is doing and gets the best possible”- Former Client